Getty Image 

Tear gas! Rubber bullets! Parades! The World Cup is here!

Yesterday in the World Cup open thread someone asked why we didn’t do live blogs for the World Series, the Stanley Cup or the the NBA Finals. Why? Because during the last five minutes of Game 5 of the NBA Finals last night the broadcasters were arguing if desserts put in doggie bags were considered leftovers, that’s how badly the Heat were being destroyed by the Spurs. Even basketball bloggers had to have been hating life at that second. No need to subject you or ourselves to that sort of nonsense, and we live blog the damn Pro Bowl. 

Don’t like the World Cup? There’s the door

Yesterday’s match between Croatia and Brazil featured one of the softest penalties ever given in professional sports in what looked to be, well, a fix. This slight comes up often when discussing international soccer and how this just happen in American football. I bring this up because as it happens, the guest on Olbermann last night happened to be Dan Moldea who wrote the 1989 book Interference on game fixing in the NFL. He’s rereleasing the book with updates. 

So today we have Mexico-Cameroon wrapping the first games of Group A play (12 p.m. ET/9 a.m. PT), Spain-Netherlands in a rematch of the 2010 World Cup final at (3 p.m. ET/ 12 p.m. PT) and Chile-Australia (6 p.m ET/ 3 p.m. PT) for Group B. 

Happy not paying attention to work summer Friday.